What’s in a name…

In our guild (and I think this is common to most guilds) we are supposed to have a stitched name tag.  I’ve been with my guild for three years now and haven’t gotten around to stitching one.  I am tagless no longer, I finally stitched my name and am in the process of finishing the edges.  I used PCStitch to make a cross stitch pattern for my name from the Curlz font.  To answer the question of what’s in a name…silk.  I had silk perle left over from doing a project and I like the colours so I used them.  Gloriana Stranded silk 124 Holiday Blue for my name and for the edgeing I’ll be using Thread Gatherer Silk Perle 081 Forget Me Not.  I have never done hardanger edges before, so I tried a little test of six kloster blocks and button hole stitch edge, then I cut the outside fabric away.  I still need to work on the inside turns on the button hole stitch.  Here is the finished name tag:

Melissa's Name Tag

The new motivation to finish a name tag comes from my May plans.  I am attending the EAC Seminar “Thousand Islands Thousand Stitches” in Kingston, Ontario. I am taking two course (each two days long).  The first one is called “Mystique” taught by Carolyn Mitchell it’s canvaswork.  The second class is “Plumage Extravaganza” taught by Sylvia Murariu, it’s Brazilian Embroidery.  I am looking forward to both, and think that it will be really interesting to learn the Brazilian Embroidery because it’s seems to be more about working with different fibres because I know the basic stitches involved.  Flight and accomodations are booked. 

So aside from that I have two wedding gifts to stitch for the summer.  The first wedding is in July and the second is in August, both for cousins. 

Town Clock Stitchers are participating in Seminar 2011 which is going to be held in Sackville, New Brunswick.  We are going to be facilitating the design and distribution of kits for stitched fund raiser items.  I’m on the Fund Raiser committee.  The Maritime guilds are all pitching in to cover different aspects of the seminar. 

Tomorrow is the Saturday Stitch In and I have to get the TCS newsletter finished this weekend.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

