Christmas · Cross-Stitch · Finished · HAED · Heaven and Earth Designs · Marilyn Leavitt-Imblum · Victoria Sampler · WIP

Christmas Stitching

This Christmas I have three cross stitched gifts to give.  I had two hanging around that I had completed last year and didn’t frame.  I finished 1994 Christmas Madonna by Marilyn Leavitt-Imblum  on September 21, 2006. 

I put it in an oval frame and am giving it to my grandmother.  I didn’t get a picture of it framed, but I probably will after she opens it.

I finished 2000 Christmas Angel by Marilyn Leavitt-Imblum and will be giving it to my cousin Erica.

I once again didn’t get a pic of the framed piece, but will get one later.   I got a lot of practice framing though.  Mounting the fabric on the foam core with t-pins and then lacing the backs before removing the pins. 

I was focusing on Heirloom Christmas Sampler, but on the last row I ran out of soie perlee and had to order some. It will take a couple of weeks before that gets here. 

It’s kind of frustrating but on the bright side it won’t take long to complete once the soie perlee does get here. 

In the meantime I have picked Father Christmas with Toys back up.  It’s a Heaven and Earth deisgn.  I started it last year but haven’t put much time into it for a few months.  Here is my progress so far. 

It wasn’t until I was standing back to take the picture that I could get a sense of the snow and tops of the trees.

My Grandmother arrived yesterday and is spending today with her sister.  Tomorrow I have to work in the morning and then the afternoon will be taken up by getting presents over to my mothers and preparing our Christmas Eve dinner of lobster and shrimp.  On the 27th I’ll be going over to Charlottetown, PEI and spending a few days with my cousins. 

Merry Christmas!!

3 thoughts on “Christmas Stitching

  1. Melissa,

    You’ve done some gorgeous pieces. The white angel has to be my fave of her free patterns. I LOVE Heirloom sampler, I’m starting that in 3 weeks. Enjoy your trip to PEI, I’ll be enjoying my snowy Ontario 😉

    Velda

  2. Hello! I just found you while tag surfing in wordpress. Your work is beautiful!

    Can I ask a probably dumb question?

    All my projects so far have been relatively small. I recently purchased a few larger, more complicated pieces. I’ve been trying to figure out the best way to do them. My usual stop, anchor, start, stop again, etc is SO not working. I see in your Father Christmas WIP, you have lots of threads pulled through.. I assume those are all the colors you’ve started. Do you pull the floss through to the next place you’ll use it? Would you please e-mail me and describe your method? I’ve stopped stitching my big one b/c it was too tedious the way I was approaching it.

    I appreciate any insight you’re willing to give!
    Jenny
    jenyenc at earthlink dot net

Leave a Reply

