Outside the Queen’s Treasure Chest

Yesterday I went to Fabricville and got the pink satin fabric, pink satin ribbon, spray adhesive and matte board (from Michael’s) that I would need to construct the outside of the box.  I went by the list of things I would need that are on the inside cover of the instructions, but as I completed the outside and came to the details about the inside construction I realized that I needed Skirtex or Easy Felt, something along those lines.  So I finished the outside of the box and hopefully today I’ll get back out to Fabricville to pick up the stiffened felt.  Here are a few pictures.

This is the first time I have ever constructed a box covered in fabric.  Two of the lid edges and two of the main body edges are stitched together using invisible thread.  I also used more invisible thread to re-inforce the hinge on the lid and of the front flap.  Isn’t is just the cutest?  It’s small, only about 7″ wide and 4″ tall.  If I go to Fabricville today then I’ll probably have the inside finished in a couple of days, if I don’t go today then it could be a couple of weeks.  Either way, pictures will definitely follow of the final product.

2 thoughts on “Outside the Queen’s Treasure Chest

    • The instructions for making the box are included in the design. There are even pictures of the various steps to help visualize what you have to do. The Cat’s Wiskers has a few different boxes that look interesting.

Leave a Reply

